
2002 NASS Rules Test 
 

ANSWER SHEET 
 
SECTION I 
 

1. False Rule 61.1(a) describes the requirements for protesting.  Two examples of when you would not have 
to fly the protest flag are if you are in a boat less than 6 meters long or if the incident is not in the 
race area (i.e. you might be protesting for a measurement issue). 

2. False see definition Tack, Starboard or Port and definition Leeward and Windward.  A boat is always on 
a tack.  It’s just a question of whether they have right-of-way or not.  In this scenario, a boat that has 
passed head to wind and not reached a close-hauled course is subject to rule 13. 

3. True See the preamble to the Part 2 rules which defines when the racing rules apply and when the 
Navigation Rules apply. 

4. True See rule 20.  A boat returning to the pre-start side of the line when over early, a boat doing penalty 
turns (either a 720 for fouling or a 360 when you hit a mark) or a boat moving astern which was 
caused by backing a sail shall keep clear of a boat that is not doing one of these things.  If two boats 
were both subject to this rule, the regular rules would apply to each relative to the other. 

5. False See rule 19.1.  This rule only applies when the leeward or clear ahead boat is on a close-hauled 
course.  In addition, the boat that you want to hail must be on the same tack though they do not 
necessarily have to be on a close-hauled course. 

6. True Rule 18.1 lists the exceptions when rule 18 does not apply.  It does not apply at a starting mark 
surrounded by navigable water.  However, when not surrounded by navigable water, it is an 
obstruction and rule 18.2 applies. 

7. True See rule 29.1.  Since you didn’t hit the mark, you have no rule 31 penalty and only have to comply 
with rule 29.1 and sail completely to the pre-start side of the line before actually starting.  You don’t 
have to actually round the pin unless rule 30.1, Round-an-End rule applies. 

8. False See rule 15.  While the starboard boat did acquire right-of-way, she did so because of the other 
boat’s actions, so rule 15 does not apply.  

9. True See rule 18.2(a) and definition Clear Ahead and Clear Astern; Overlap.  If they weren’t near the 
mark, this would be a simple port/starboard situation and the boats would not be considered to be 
overlapped.  However, boats on opposite tacks ARE only considered to be overlapped when rule 18 
applies.  In this case, the boats are overlapped, and starboard, the right-of-way boat is on the outside; 
therefore, she must give room to port. 

10. False See rule 18.1(b).  Rule 18 does not apply between boats on opposite tacks when they are on a beat to 
windward.  When rule 18 doesn’t apply, boats on opposite tacks are never considered to be 
overlapped, so this is a straight port/starboard situation. 

11. False Rule 44.4, Limits on Penalties, says that if you foul another boat and in the same incident hit the 
mark, you don’t have to take the penalty for hitting the mark…but you still must make your 720 
penalty turns for fouling. 

12. False See rule 14.  A right-of-way boat will only be disqualified if they did not avoid the collision and it 
was reasonably possible AND if the contact resulted in damamge.  No damage, no DSQ. 

13. False See the Basic Principle and rule 3.  If you know you have broken a rule, you must either take a 
penalty OR retire.  You can only keep racing without doing a penalty if you don’t think you broke a 
rule or you are protesting. 

14. True See definition Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap.  The boat must be between and must overlap 
both boats. 

 
SECTION II 
 

15. A. True Rule 19.1 says boats must be on the same tack; otherwise rule 10 applies. 
 B. True Rule 19.1; if L can tack and duck or otherwise keep clear, this rule would not apply. 
 C. False Rule 19.1 gives W two choices 
 D. False Rule 19.1 says that before tacking, she must give the hailed boat time to respond. 
 E. True As long as the boats are overlapped when two BL’s from the obstruction, rule 18.2(a) applies 

and L, the outside boat with right-of-way, must give W, the inside keep clear boat, room to 
pass the obstruction. 



 
16. A. False See definitions Tack, Starboard or Port and Leeward and Windward.  You are always on a 

tack. 
 B. True The leeward side is the port side which was away from the wind prior to sailing to head to 

wind.  Therefore the starboard side is the windward side and she is on starboard tack. 
 C. False It doesn’t matter which side you push to boom out to as long as you don’t pass through head 

to wind. 
 D. True Rule 20 says that a boat moving astern by backing a sail shall keep clear of one that is not. 
 E. False You are still moving astern as a result of backing a sail.  If you started moving backwards 

(i.e. were in irons) but had NOT backed a sail, rule 20 would not apply. 
 F.  True You are no longer moving astern so rule 20 no longer applies. 

 
17. A. True Rule 17.2 says a windward boat within 2 BL’s from a leeward boat shall not sail below her 

proper course (unless she gybes), but this does NOT apply on a beat to windward.  However, 
the windward boat must still keep clear in accordance with rule 11. 

 B. False Rule 17.2 says W can’t sail below her proper course on anything other than a beat unless she 
gybes. 

 C. True  W can sail below her proper course as long as she gybes. 
 D. False L can sail above her proper course because she did not establish the overlap with W from 

clear astern and therefore rule 17.1 does not apply. 
 E. False L is ALWAYS the right-of-way boat (unless rule 20 applies).  Establishing an overlap from 

clear astern doesn’t change that…it only puts a proper course limitation on the leeward boat. 
 

18. A. YES See definitions Proper Course.  It is your proper course that matters.  In situations where you 
did not establish an overlap from clear astern or did so from further than two boatlengths to 
leeward, you can sail above your proper course.  When you did establish an overlap from 
clear astern within 2 BL’s, rule 17.1 says you can’t sail above your proper course.  You are 
still the right-of-way boat. 

 B. YES See answer A above. 
 C. YES See answer A above. 
 D. NO The definition of Proper Course says it is the course you would sail to finsih as soon as 

possible in the absence of the other boats referred to in the rule using the term.  In this case, 
the windward boat is the other boat referred to in rule 17.1, so in the windward boat’s 
absence, L would have no reason to protect her clear air. 

 E. YES See answer A above. 
 F.  YES See answer A above. 

 
19. A. False  Rule 18.1(b) says that rule 18 does not apply between boats on opposite tacks on a beat to 

windward, so this is a simple rule 10 port/starboard situation. 
 B. True Since P tacks more than 2 BL’s from the mark, rule 18.3 does not apply.  The windward mark 

is moot in this situation.  This is a simple case of tacking too close and rule 13 applies. 
 C. False P completes her tack outside 2 BL’s to the windward mark so rule 18.3 does not apply.  P 

does keep clear of S while on port and while she is tacking (from head to wind until close-
hauled on starboard) so rule 13 does not apply.  Since she tacks into a right-of-way position 
(clear ahead), rule 15 applies, but P did initially give S room to keep clear.  So S is a clear 
astern boat and must keep clear of P in accordance with rule 12.  S fulfills her obligation. 

 D. False P completes her tack outside 2 BL’s to the windward mark so rule 18.3 does not apply.  P did 
not establish the overlap with S from clear astern, so rule 17.1 does not apply and P can sail 
above her proper course after she completes her tack.  S must keep clear. 

 E. True Rule 18.3(a) applies since P finished her tack within the 2 length zone.   She cannot cause S 
to sail above a close-hauled course. 

 



 
20. A. NOT No hail requirement in rule 10. 
 B. NOT No hail requirement in rule 18. 
 C. IS Hail for room to tack at an obstruction is required in rule 19.1. 
 D. IS Hail of the word “Protest” is required in rule 61.1(a) for protests concerning an incident in the 

racing area. 
 E. NOT No hail requirement in rule 21. 
 F.  NOT No hail requirement in rule 18. 

 
21. A. True See definitions Tack, Starboard or Port and Leeward and Windward.  When sailing by the 

lee, the leeward side is the side on which the mainsail lies.   
 B. False See answer A above. 
 C. False  When sailing, you always have a windward and leeward side and are always on a tack. 

 
22. A. YES See definition Obstruction.  A boat racing is an obstruction when you are required to keep 

clear  of them. 
 B. NO See rule 19.2.  Rule 19.1 does not apply at a starting mark surrounded by navigablae water 

(or at its anchor lines) after starting until you have passed them. 
 C. YES  See definition Obstruction.  An object that can be safely passed on only one side (or if it were 

designated by the sailing instructions) would be an obstruction.  
 D. NO A speed buoy would not require a substantial change of course in order to pass it. 
 E. YES See definition Obstruction.  If it is an anchored racing boat, rule 21 applies so the boat is an 

obstruction.  Otherwise it is an obstruction as it might be large enough to have to make a 
substantial change of course in order to pass it. 

 
SECTION III 
 

23. A Rule 11 makes L the right-of-way boat.  There is no rule 17.1 proper course limitation because L did 
not establish the overlap from clear astern. 

24. E Rule 15 applies because the boat tacking onto starboard has acquired right-of-way. 
25. D Rule 17.1 limits L from sailing above her proper course.  Her proper course (in the absence of the 

windward boat) would still be to shoot the mark to make it around rather than doing two tacks.  The 
leeward boat is the right-of-way boat and rule 11 requires the windward boat to keep clear. 

26. D Rule 10 makes the starboard boat the right-of-way boat and port the keep clear boat.  Rule 18.2(a) 
says that when the inside boat has right-of-way, the outshide boat shall keep clear (as well as give 
room). 

27. C Rule 11 makes the leeward boat right-of-way and the windward boat the keep clear boat.  Rule 
18.2(a) says that the outside boat shall give room to the inside boat. 

 
SECTION IV 
 

28. L did not establish the overlap from clear astern, or if they did, they were > 2 BL from W at the time. 
29. Rule 16, Changing Course; when L changes course, she must give W room to keep clear. 
30. The boats must be on a beat to windward.  See rule 17.2. 
31. A. Contact must cause damage. 

B. If there is damage, S must avoid contact if reasonably possible. 
32. A. Rule 20 when returning to start 

B. Rule 20 and rule 31.2 when doing a 360 after hitting a mark. 
C. Rule 20 and rule 44.2 when doing a 720 after breaking a rule of Part 2. 
D. Rule 20 when moving astern. 

33. A. Tack as soon as possible 
B. Reply “You tack.” 

34. A. If you caused serious damage 
B. If you gained a significant advantage in the race or series (see rule 44.1) 

35. A. Display a yellow flag at the first reasonable opportunity after the incident 
B. Keep the yellow flag displayed until you have finished 
C. Call the race committee’s attention to the yellow flag at the finishing line 



 
SECTION V 
 

36. Black White Rule 10 
37. Black White Rule 11 
38. Black White Rule 10 
39. Black White Rules 10 and 18.2(a) 
40. Black White Rules 11 and 18.3 

 
SECTION VI 
 

41. YES NO Rule 18.3(b) 
42. YES NO Rule 18.5 
43. YES NO Rule 18.2(c) 
44. YES NO Rules 18.2(a) 
45. YES NO Rules 18.2(a) 

 


